12 - 13 Quay Walls
1972 - 1973 Architect: Robson Design
These Quay Wall properties were built in 1825 and leased to H M Customs who used them as a custom house for the Port of Berwick. In 1917, they became private houses but by 1971 they were empty, boarded up, falling down and had become a conspicuous blight on the face of the town
This first task took a lot of work but the rewards were ample compensation. Importantly to the local people and the town was the fact that they had been restored, brought back into use and integrated once again into Berwick's unique heritage.
Click on a photograph to display an enlarged view.