Built at the end of the 877 metre long breakwater protecting the entrance to the River Tweed and Berwick Harbour, the Berwick Lighthouse has been welcoming seafarers for nearly 200 years since it was completed in 1826. At a height of 13.5 metres it is also a major landmark in the town and the distinctive red and white colouring has featured on many pictures and photographs over the years, not least in the iconic painting by L S Lowry which has resulted in a walk out to the lighthouse being an essential part of the town’s renowned Lowry Trail.
Unfortunately, the prominent position of the lighthouse means that the structure and its paintwork is exposed to the worst that North Sea gales can throw at it. The ravages of the elements had done their work again and in 2020, the building was repointed and repainted by the Trust.
Not only was this project commissioned by the Trust to preserve an important building but all those involved, from the owners (The Harbour Commissioners) to the builders and painters, worked together during the difficult time of lockdowns due to Covid19 in 2020, to deliver a very visible signal that Berwick was back open for business and, once again, the lighthouse was welcoming visitors to the town.
Click on a photograph to display an enlarged view.